Kiki Schmidt

Creative Director

“OUR WORK IS PROOF OF THE FACT THAT THERE NEED NOT BE ANY DISCREPANCY BETWEEN INNOVATIVE, EXTRAORDINARY IDEAS AND IMPLEMENTING THEM IN A MANNER FIT FOR EVERYDAY USE.”

I have been at hauser lacour since 2006. As the agency has grown, so have I; the constant new challenges mean that for me things never have stood still. I started out as a designer, and now I’m responsible for projects and teams focusing on the devising and developing corporate design and corporate communication. As such I have been working with clients such as Deutsche Börse and Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Siegen for more than six years now.

Despite the agency having grown in size, the attention paid to detail is still the same. On my first project for hauser lacour – an artist’s catalog – we discussed how to deal with detailed typography. A “love of detail” now means that although projects are developed in all-embracing overall strategies, each design detail is nonetheless still thought through. This is what makes for the quality of the work and enables us to instill our passion for design in every project.

Fortunately in the agency’s day-to-day business the hierarchies have always remained flat, and experience gained is shared and passed on to others. Every staffer is involved in both the development of concepts and strategies and in design, which means that in the team you very much work as partners.

My degree course at the Academy of Design in Karlsruhe had an interdisciplinary slant. It focused on the development of concepts, which fits in with the way of working at hauser lacour: Consideration is always given to an unusual solution as well, without losing sight of the client.

Clients also benefit from the broad range of services hauser lacour offers: Experience gained from highly diverse projects can be channeled into every new concept. I enjoy proving that there need not be any discrepancy between innovative, extraordinary ideas and implementing them such that they are fir for everyday use by the client.

Kiki Schmidt

Creative Director

„Unsere Arbeit ist der Beweis dafür, dass es keine Diskrepanz zwischen innovativen, außergewöhnlichen Ideen und alltagstauglichen Umsetzungen geben muss.“

Seit 2006 bin ich bei hauser lacour. Ich bin mit der Agentur "mitgewachsen", und durch ständig neue Herausforderungen gab es für mich keinen Stillstand: Angefangen habe ich als Designerin, jetzt bin ich verantwortlich für Projekte und Teams mit den Schwerpunkten Konzeption und Entwicklung von Corporate Design und Corporate Communication. Mit Kunden wie der Deutschen Börse oder dem Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen arbeite ich so schon seit mehr als sechs Jahren zusammen.

Trotz des Wachstums der Agentur ist die Liebe zum Detail geblieben. Bei meinem ersten Projekt für hauser lacour – einem Künstlerkatalog – wurde über den Umgang mit Detailtypografie diskutiert. Mittlerweile bedeutet "Liebe zum Detail", dass die Projekte in umfassenden Gesamtstrategien entwickelt werden – und weiterhin trotzdem jedes gestalterische Detail durchdacht wird. Das macht die Qualität der Arbeit aus und ermöglicht uns, die Leidenschaft für Design in jedem Projekt zu realisieren.

Zum Glück sind die Hierarchie-Strukturen im Agenturalltag flach geblieben und Erfahrungen werden geteilt und weiter gegeben. Jeder Mitarbeiter ist sowohl in die Entwicklung von Konzepten und Strategien als auch in das Design involviert, was die Zusammenarbeit im Team sehr partnerschaftlich macht.

Mein Studium an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe war interdisziplinär angelegt. Der Fokus lag auf der Entwicklung von Konzepten, was auch der Arbeitsweise von hauser lacour entspricht: Es wird immer auch die ungewöhnliche Lösung angedacht, ohne den Blick für den Kunden zu verlieren.

Die Kunden profitieren zudem von dem breit aufgestellten Angebotsportfolio von hauser lacour: So können Erfahrungen aus den unterschiedlichsten Projekten in jedes neue Konzept mit einfließen. Für mich ist dabei reizvoll, zu beweisen, dass es keine Diskrepanz zwischen innovativen, außergewöhnlichen Ideen und für den Kunden alltagstauglichen Umsetzungen geben muss.